Praise for BME Alumnus Dr. Duran N. Yetkinler

Posted: August 1, 2011


Duran N. Yetkinler (MD, PhD) has been selected as a recipient of the 2011 College of Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award for his influential work in the fields of biomaterials and health care.

Dr. Yetkinler earned both MS (1991) and PhD (1994) degrees in Biomedical Engineering from The Ohio State University. He has gone on to build a successful career in the biomaterials industry, specifically working on the development, evaluation, and commercialization of calcium-phosphate materials for fracture repair and skeletal reconstruction. “His career path reveals a motivated and effective scientist who has expanded his skills and responsibilities into the business arena to commercialize new health-care technologies to solve important clinical problems,” writes nominator Dr. Alan Litsky, associate professor in Biomedical Engineering at Ohio State and Dr. Yetkinler’s former faculty mentor.

Since 2007, Dr. Yetkinler has served as president of Skeletal Kinetics, LLC, in Cupertino, California where he combines his medical and biomaterials training with his business experience to lead the company into their next phase of growth and development. Throughout his career he has continued to stay connected to biomedical engineering education by serving as an adjunct faculty member at San Jose State University and as a member of the external advisory board for Biomedical Engineering at Ohio State.

The Distinguished Alumni Awards were established by the faculty of the College of Engineering to recognize distinguished achievement on the part of alumni in the field of engineering/architecture by reason of significant inventions, important research or design, administrative leadership, or genius in production. Nominations are judged by the College Committee on Honorary Degrees and Honors on behalf of the College faculty.

Dr. Yetkinler will be presented with his award at the College’s 14th annual Excellence in Engineering & Architecture Alumni Awards event on September 9th. Congratulations to one of our most esteemed alumni!