You are here

Bolte Selected to Receive 2012 Elaine Wodzin Young Achiever Award

John Bolte, PhD, an alumnus of the BME program, has been selected to receive the 2012 Elaine Wodzin Young Achiever Award, presented by the Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine (AAAM).  Each year, the AAAM acknowledges individuals dedicated to understanding and preventing injuries from motor vehicle crashes through interdisciplinary work engaging both medicine and engineering. The award will be given during the recognition dinner at the AAAM annual conference to be held in Seattle, WA, on October 16.

Dr. Bolte is an associate professor of Anatomy at Ohio State in the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences and serves as director of the Injury Biomechanics Research Laboratory (IBRL).  He also holds a concurrent appointment in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and is a member of the OSU Biomedical Engineering graduate faculty.

The research in the IBRL focuses on the biomechanics that dictate anatomical responses to impact.  This data is used to help develop more biofideltic crash test dummies and, when applied, to lead to safer automobiles.