You are here

Engineering in Healthcare Industry & Research Symposium

On March 24, the 2nd Annual Engineering in Healthcare Industry and Research (EHIR) Symposium took place. The EHIR Symposium is organized and hosted by The Ohio State University’s Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) student chapter and Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student Association (BMEGSA). This event showcases exemplary research from engineering graduate and undergraduate students and facilitated a fruitful exchanges between students, faculty and industry representatives. The events keynote speaker was Doug Boyd, business line manager of Battelle, Consumer, Industrial and Medical Technologies, Boyd, a mechanical engineering alumnus, has dedicated his career to helping people by making new medical technologies a reality. The panel also included Tao Tran, vice president of Research and Development at TRIM-edicine, Jason Barkeloo, chairman and founder of Open Therapeutics, Steve Pastor, director of Advanced Engineering at US Endoscopy, a subsidiary of STERIS Corportation, and Damir Janigro, founder and CSO of Flocel Inc., CEO of FloTBI, and an adjunct professor at Case Western Reserve University.

29 students from across the College of Engineering participated and presented in the poster competition

Undergraduate Category:

First Place: Brianna Marselle (Biomedical Engineering), Michelle Murach (Biomedical Engineering), Amanda Agnew, director, Skeletal Biology Research Lab and assistant professor, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences (HRS), Yun-Seok Kang, research assistant professor, division of health sciences, HRS. Human Rib Structural Stiffness is not Predictable by Simplified Global Geometry.

Runner-up: Torie Broer (Biomedical Engineering), Joshua Hoffman, research associate, Sports Medicine Research Institute, Stephanie Di Stasi, assistant professor of Orthopaedics, and research scientist in the Sports Medicine Research Institute. Comparison of Single Marker vs. Marker Clusters in Kinematics Calculated from 3D Motion Capture Data.

Graduate Category:

First Place: Kilho Lee (Chemical Engineering). Scalable nanocompsoite synthesis via Liquid-Liquid Electrospray.

Runner-up: Ryan Letcher (Mechanical Engineering). SmartHub: A Low Cost Manual Wheelchair Fitness Metrics Tool for Clinicians, Researchers, and Wheelchair Users.

Click here to see photos.