You are here

Honoring excellence: 20th Annual Distinguished Faculty Awards

The College of Engineering annually honors faculty and researchers for outstanding teaching, research and outreach at the Distinguished Faculty Awards. The 2017 awardees were recognized on April 27th, in the Blackwell ballroom. This year three of the Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME) faculty members were celebrated for their excellence.

2017 Distinguished Faculty Awards recipients:

Lumley Interdisciplinary Research Award 

Daniel Gallego-Perez, PhD, Assistant Professor of BME and Surgery, College of Medicine. The team also includes Dr. Wu Lu, ECE and Dr. L. James Lee, CBE.

From left to right: Dr. Wu Lu (ECE), Dr. Gallego Perez (BME), Dr. Rudy Buchheit, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Administration (CoE). Photo Credit: A.J.Zanyk

The Lumley Interdisciplinary Research Awards recognizes interdisciplinary research accomplishments of college faculty and research staff. This award is presented to a team that has established a record of excellence in interdisciplinary research as demonstrated by co-authored publications, joint-sponsored research programs and co-advised students. The team includes faculty or research scientists from at least two different departments and can include members from other colleges.


Lumley Research Award 

Thomas Hund, PhD, Associate Professor of BME for his outstanding research and contributions.

From left to right: Dr. Thomas Hund (BME), Dr. Rudy Buchheit. Photo Credit: A.J.Zanyk

The Lumley Engineering Research Awards are presented to a select group of outstanding researchers in the College of Engineering who have shown exceptional activity and success in pursuing new knowledge of a fundamental or applied nature.


Dean’s Award for Distinguished Outreach Achievements

Jessica Winter, PhD, Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering and Biomedical Engineering, for her collaboration with community partners to educate the public on the impact of nanoengineering in medicine.

From left to right: Dr. David Tomasko, Associate Dean for Undergrad Education and Student Services (CoE), Dr. Jessica Winter (BME, CBE) Photo Credit: A.J.Zanyk

This award was established in 2015, and it recognizes an individual faculty member who has demonstrated significant and longstanding achievement of positive community impact through outreach activities or programs within the College of Engineering.

Congratulations Drs. Winter, Gallego-Perez and Hund!