You are here

2018 Faculty Awards and Accolades




Rizwan Ahmad - assistant professor of Biomedical Engineering (BME), has been awarded a 2-year, $409K, National Institutes of Health (NIH) R21 grant for his study titled “Prospective Slice Tracking for Cardiac MRI.” Click here to read more.





Rita Alevriadou - associate professor, BME and Internal Medicine,Cardiovascular Medicine, was awarded a National Institutes of Health (NIH) R01 grant titled “Control of Endothelial Mechanotransduction by the Mitochondrial Calcium Uniporter (MCU): Implications for Atherosclerosis”. The four-year grant is for $1.8M and runs from August 1, 2018 to June 30,2022.Click here to read more about Dr. Alevriadou's research.






Lakshmi Prasad Dasi - associate professor, BME, was awarded anew research grant for over $228,000 for two years from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Click here to read more.







Daniel Gallego-Perez - assistant professor, BME and Department of Surgery, has won a National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director’s New Innovator Award. Click here to read more.




Samir Ghadiali - On September 1, professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Samir Ghadiali, was promoted to chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering. He was also elected to join the medical and biological engineering elite. Click here to read more. Recently, Dr. Ghadiali secured a Department of Defense graint titled “Cell-Specific MicroRNA Regulation of Ventilation Induced Lung Injury during Hemorrhagic Shock.” Click here to read more.



Derek Hansford - associate professor, BME, was awarded a grant by the National Science Foundation (NSF) to develop an optical up-conversion device using nonlinear electrooptical polymer microfabrication. The 3-year, $160,000 grant is for Hansford’s work as primary investigator on “COMPACT SUB-1 KELVIN RESOLUTION VIDEO RATE 94 GHz PASSIVE IMAGING CAMERA USING OPTICAL UP-CONVERSION.” The grant runs from August 15, 2018 – July 31, 2021. Click here to read more.






Jennifer Leight - assistant professor, BME, received the Department of Biomedical Engineeing 2018 Herman R. Weed Excellence in Teaching Award. In recognition by her students of exemplary instruction and mentorship in service to students in the Department of Biomedical Engineering. She was recently awarded Pelotonia funfed grant for cancer research. Click here to read more.






Tanya Nocera - assistant professor of practice, BME is principal investigator (PI) on a newly funded $200k project by the National Science Foundation (NSF) - Research Initiation in Engineering Formation (RIEF). Click here to read more.





Cynthia Roberts - professor in Ophthalmology and Biomedical Engineering, was added to the “Ophthalmologist 2018 Power List” that highlights the top 100 most influential people in the world of ophthalmology. Congratulations to Dr. Roberts for her second time being on the Power List! Click here for full story.







Mark Ruegsegger - associate professor of clinical practice and director of undergraduate studies, BME, was elected to represent the College of Engineering for University Senate. He was also promoted to Professor of Practice, effective June 8, 2018.





La’Tonia Stiner-Jones - PhD., MBA, Assistant Dean of Graduate Programs College of Engineering and Assistant Professor of Practice, BME, was awarded the College of Engineering, Faculty Diversity Excellence Award for excellence in promoting diversity and creating an environment and organizational culture in which all individuals are accepted, respected and valued.






Jessica Winter - PhD, Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering and Biomedical Engineering won the College of Engineering, Innovators Award for her development of fluorescent and magnetic nanoparticles for clinical diagnostic applications.