Four BME professors earn prestigious faculty titles in 2023

Headshots of four faculty, 3 are female presenting
Clockwise starting with top left: Devina Purmessur (Walter), Daniel Gallego-Perez, Katelyn Swindle-Reilly, Natalia Higuita-Castro

Endowed positions are one of the highest honors the college can bestow upon our faculty. They illustrate the powerful partnership between faculty and philanthropists in defining areas of discovery and bringing them to life. By funding endowed chairs, donors can convene the brightest minds to focus on particular problems or issues and spur advances in those areas.

Awarded to faculty who have achieved great distinction, endowed positions universally acknowledge research and scholarship of the highest caliber and signify the broad impact of the individual’s work. Endowed positions also aid in the recruitment and retention of faculty who are at the top of their respective fields, enhancing their ability to secure future funding.

BME has four faculty this year who have been honored with endowed positions. Please join us in congratulating Associate Professors Daniel Gallego-Perez, PhD; Natalia Higuita-Castro, PhD; Devina Purmessur (Walter), PhD; Katelyn Swindle-Reilly, PhD for being recognized by the College of Engineering with endowed positions.

The Edgar C. Hendrickson Designated Chair in Biomedical Engineering

Associate Professor Daniel Gallego-Perez, Biomedical Engineering

Established in 1999 from Hendrickson’s estate, the endowment commemorates him and his desire to advance the quality of teaching and research within the college at the dean's discretion.

College of Engineering Innovation Scholar

Associate Professor Natalia Higuita-Castro, Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor Devina Purmessur (Walter), Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor Katelyn Swindle-Reilly, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering